Beyond Borders

courage. faith. action.

Thirty-one Days of Quiet.

8 Comments

It’s October again, and I keep asking myself what happened to this year? Where have all the days gone? The answer is simple, we chased them away.

Tomorrow is the one ear anniversary of living in our new home. This home is an amazing blessing beyond anything we could have imagined for ourselves. With all that the blessing holds we thought it would bring peace and quiet the in chaos.

We were grossly mistaken. This past year has brought many trials including more migraines, more meltdowns, more diagnoses, which in turn brought much anxiety and fatigue.

We let chaos rule.

This year we did not stop. in the midst of chronic illness building, our youngest regressing and behaviors growing out of control,  it wasn’t long before we forgot how to breathe. We went from task to task, running half empty and everything seemed an emergency.

We forgot how to live.

In all of the chaos, we forgot to fill our lives with the practice of rest to find our quiet. But most importantly, and most absurdly we forgot the One who gives us rest. Without Him there is no quiet, only chaos, for He is Order, and Rest, and Quiet.

It’s time to get back to the quiet. Get back to Him. Make it so routine that it becomes habit. So for the next thirty-one days I will be writing out how I can find quiet in the chaos. If you would like to follow the entire series, click here and see all the posts on Finding Quiet in the Chaos.

 

 

31 days a writing challenge

 

 

I am joining thousands of others writing out for the 31 days of October. Myquillin Smith, the Nester of nestingplace.com has been hosting 31 days for the past 5 years. This year is the sixth year. and this year she has created a website just for this challenge, write31days.com. So come join us.

31-days

Author: Shelly Richardson

A stay at home mom, married to my best friend, who loves like Jesus. Together we have four beautiful daughters. One biological, one adopted and two by way of marriage. Our 12 year old daughter was diagnosed with Aspergers syndrome when she was 6 years old and our youngest was diagnosed with autism at 3 years old. I have dealt with chronic illness most of my life and at times has been debilitating. It is through this illness and the special needs of our children that drew us closer to God. Beyond Borders is the place where I write out my story of living beyond my borders. A place to share of God’s love and grace, His mercy and sovereignty, and what that looks like in my own little world of chronic illness and autism. A place where courage and faith intersect and He moves me to action. My hope in writing is that you find something that inspires you. Encourages you. Makes you smile.

8 thoughts on “Thirty-one Days of Quiet.

  1. How true, aren’t we always looking for the next thing that will surely set our minds at ease? Thankfully God is patient with us and ready to meet us when we stop reaching for more and finally turn towards Him.

    Lovely post, looking forward to the series.

  2. This is right where I am too Shelly! This particular month is so busy but i am refusing to lose the beauty God has because I am running around in chaos. I am slowing down and want to really live fully. I will be following this series too, thanks so much for sharing your life Shelly, it’s such a gift!

  3. I feel like we had such a similar year. My One Word is Peace, which I know God laid on my heart for a reason, but thus far this year has felt nothing but chaotic. So, I recently decided to re-center on that word. To find calm in the chaos. And then I came across your blog through beautifulinhistime.com. It’s perfect timing, as things always are with God ❤

Leave a Reply

