Beyond Borders

courage. faith. action.

Soul Freedom

6 Comments

We listen impatiently. Squirming with anticipation. The thud. The dull sound that catapults the light toward heaven, with tail streaming long toward earth. Eyes now searching the sky in wonder. The moment of darkness right before the burst. Then in happens. The sky bursts wide open in a roar of thunder. Red. white blue. They dance across midnight. Soar across heavens. Slowly falling into earth.

20120706-123756.jpg

This is freedom. Real soul freedom. The freedom found only in the trusting, in the letting go, falling straight into our Savior’s arms. The freedom found only in the grasp of God.

Standing on the edge, toes grip tight as I wait for the thud. Eyes fixed and focused. I am ready. My eyes close. I feel the anticipation. I hear it in each heart beat. Just let go… And I do. And I am soaring. And I am falling. And it’s freedom.

He holds me right there in His grasp.

For where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.
II Corinthians 3:17

By His grace alone,
Shelly

This post is linked to the color your world challenge. If you would like to join in click the photo below…

are you ready to join in the color challenge?

1. July’s colors a red, white and blue! (other linky dates and colors)

2. take red, white, blue… interpret it how you want using whatever medium you want.

3. write a blog post about it.

4. grab the ‘color your world’ button to display on your blog or link back to the linky.

5. link up your blog post (not your blog). link will stay open through sunday, july 8th at 11:59 pm cst.

‘color your world’ is a monthly linky hosted by…

jennifer @ studio jru
jen @ i believe in love
stephanie @ beyond words designs

Author: Shelly Richardson

A stay at home mom, married to my best friend, who loves like Jesus. Together we have four beautiful daughters. One biological, one adopted and two by way of marriage. Our 12 year old daughter was diagnosed with Aspergers syndrome when she was 6 years old and our youngest was diagnosed with autism at 3 years old. I have dealt with chronic illness most of my life and at times has been debilitating. It is through this illness and the special needs of our children that drew us closer to God. Beyond Borders is the place where I write out my story of living beyond my borders. A place to share of God’s love and grace, His mercy and sovereignty, and what that looks like in my own little world of chronic illness and autism. A place where courage and faith intersect and He moves me to action. My hope in writing is that you find something that inspires you. Encourages you. Makes you smile.

6 thoughts on “Soul Freedom

  1. I love this, Shelly!! Your words painted such a picture, I felt like I was standing there beside you! I think that is such a wonderful and beautiful verse. Thank you so much for joining our ‘color your world’ challenge again this month!

  2. Oh goodness, that is a spectacular photo. I can never get images that great with fireworks! Thank you for sharing and participating this month!

Leave a Reply

