Beyond Borders

courage. faith. action.

Day Six :: Belonging

9 Comments

Growing up we moved. A lot. We were not a military family, nor did we travel for work. It was just life. Circumstance.

It was not easy. Changing schools, attempting new friends. I was shy and awkward. Never quite fitting in. Never belonging. Then one day I just stopped. Stopped trying to belong. I was better off on my own. Enough was enough. My first border.

Then one summer i caught a glimpse. A brief moment in time when I was just accepted for me. The me with wild hair and Holly Hobbie pants. That summer we moved to a little mobile home park, in a little bitty town in New York. This park had nothing fancy. The roads were dirt. The homes small. The playground was a mere set of swings.

But in this little park, I found them, the others. The ones just like me. We were all misfits of sorts, all from different backgrounds. There was the adopted rich girl with her two designer dogs. The dark haired girl with the a big toothy smile, who seemed to spend more time on her own than with her parents. The fort maker and his little brother. The cool rebel with long hair and a leather jacket. As different as we were, we accepted each other. Just the way we were. No conditions. And I belonged.

The summer soon ended and my glimpse came to end as we moved 1000 miles into what seemed a whole new world. I spent many years trying to relive my glimpse, to get that summer back. To be unconditionally accepted. To fit in. To just be. Good. Enough. I performed, conformed, transformed. Anything. I desperately wanted to belong.

The God of my childhood watched from the fringes. He desperate to show me His love and acceptance. That I belonged to Him. Left there in the fringes. A border built between Him and me. For I believed if the people here on this planet, that were really no different than I, did not accept me for me, than how could He, One so holy?

But He loved me to much to continue believing that lie. Thankfully, God hedged me in, changed my circumstances. Brought me back to the only One that can give true belonging. The only belonging that matters.

For there is no partiality with God.
Romans 2:11 (NASB)

As for those who were held in high esteem—whatever they were makes no difference to me; God does not show favoritism—they added nothing to my message.
Galatians 2:6 (NIV)

Day One :: The Beginning
Day Two :: Abide
Day Three :: In My Strength
Day Four :: He Equips
Day Five :: Embrace
Day Six :: Belonging
Day Seven :: Rise
Day Eight
Day Nine
Day Ten
Day Eleven
Day Twelve
Day Thirteen
Day Fourteen
Day Fifteen
Day Sixteen :: How Great is Our God
Day Seventeen :: Stuck

Author: Shelly Richardson

A stay at home mom, married to my best friend, who loves like Jesus. Together we have four beautiful daughters. One biological, one adopted and two by way of marriage. Our 12 year old daughter was diagnosed with Aspergers syndrome when she was 6 years old and our youngest was diagnosed with autism at 3 years old. I have dealt with chronic illness most of my life and at times has been debilitating. It is through this illness and the special needs of our children that drew us closer to God. Beyond Borders is the place where I write out my story of living beyond my borders. A place to share of God’s love and grace, His mercy and sovereignty, and what that looks like in my own little world of chronic illness and autism. A place where courage and faith intersect and He moves me to action. My hope in writing is that you find something that inspires you. Encourages you. Makes you smile.

9 thoughts on “Day Six :: Belonging

  1. Pingback: Day Five :: Embrace « Beyond Borders

  2. Pingback: Day Three :: In My Strength « Beyond Borders

  3. Pingback: Day One :: The Beginning « Beyond Borders

  4. Pingback: Day Seven :: Rise « Beyond Borders

  5. Pingback: Day Four :: He Equips « Beyond Borders

  6. Pingback: Day Two :: Abide « Beyond Borders

  7. Pingback: Day Sixteen :: How Great is our God « Beyond Borders

  8. Pingback: Day Seventeen :: Stuck « Beyond Borders

  9. Pingback: Day One :: The Beginning « Beyond Borders

Leave a Reply

