Beyond Borders

courage. faith. action.

Day Two :: Abide

11 Comments

Abide, transitive verb, to endure without yielding… Abiding in Him, in Christ, brings peace in ALL things… strength for ALL things.

Without yielding. WITHOUT yielding. Without YIELDING. Those two words stuck in my head. On Repeat. Emphasis changing with each phrase. My brain twisting the words into my life… not succumbing to circumstances, giving in when overwhelmed, creating borders when it’s just. Too. Hard.

I grab the dictionary and search for other definitions of abide to try and grasp a full understanding of this word. Remain, wait… continue? This seems almost contradictory. I am to remain, wait and continue? This begins another search. What do these words mean? How can I remain or wait, and continue? As I look at the dictionary; the definitions of each of these words, I realize my error. I am relying on MY understanding, my limited earthly knowledge and earthly tools. If I am abiding in Him, I am abiding in His word. So I search His word, His dictionary…

John 15:7-11 King James Version
If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you. Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit; so shall ye be my disciples. As the Father hath loved me, so have I loved you: continue ye in my love. If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love. These things have I spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full.

There they are, the words… Remain. Continue. The same words in the dictionary, my earthy tool, but ultimately His. Because without Him, His words, nothing is. Nothing can be. So when searching other versions of this same scripture I am not surprised to find the words remain and continue are replaced with abide. Interchangeable. Now, my revised definition… Abide, a verb, an action word. A word with many meanings all pointing in the same direction. Whether it is remain, rest, wait, continue, endure… it is the same. An action. A choice.

Why is this word, Abide, so important? Because when we abide in Him, our focus is not on ourselves, our circumstances, but on Him. And when We abide in Him, He abides in us. This brings peace and strength, the ability to do all things. Everything else seems to fall into place.

Without yielding, the most important of these definitions for me. To run my race without yielding. Enduring. Beyond my borders. Fully abiding. In Him.

Abide. What does it mean to you?

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding.
Proverbs 3:5 (NASB)

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD. “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts.”
Isaiah 55:8-9 (NASB)

Brethren, each one is to remain with God in that condition in which he was called.
1 Corinthians 7:24 (NASB)

As for you, let that abide in you which you heard from the beginning. If what you heard from the beginning abides in you, you also will abide in the Son and in the Father.
1 John 2:24 (NASB)

Day One :: The Beginning
Day Two :: Abide
Day Three :: In My Strength
Day Four :: He Equips
Day Five :: Embrace
Day Six :: Belonging
Day Seven :: Rise
Day Eight
Day Nine
Day Ten
Day Eleven
Day Twelve
Day Thirteen
Day Fourteen
Day Fifteen
Day Sixteen :: How Great is Our God
Day Seventeen :: Stuck

Author: Shelly Richardson

A stay at home mom, married to my best friend, who loves like Jesus. Together we have four beautiful daughters. One biological, one adopted and two by way of marriage. Our 12 year old daughter was diagnosed with Aspergers syndrome when she was 6 years old and our youngest was diagnosed with autism at 3 years old. I have dealt with chronic illness most of my life and at times has been debilitating. It is through this illness and the special needs of our children that drew us closer to God. Beyond Borders is the place where I write out my story of living beyond my borders. A place to share of God’s love and grace, His mercy and sovereignty, and what that looks like in my own little world of chronic illness and autism. A place where courage and faith intersect and He moves me to action. My hope in writing is that you find something that inspires you. Encourages you. Makes you smile.

11 thoughts on “Day Two :: Abide

  1. LOVE, love, love this!! Awesome job, Shelly! I love word studies and you did a wonderful one on this!! Thanks for the encouragement. Love your writings and how you are being used by God to reach out to others. Hugs!!

  2. I love how you have shown that even words may lost its deeper meaning unless we are connected to the Lord who knows the full meaning of everything.

    Truly, I have peace and strength only when I abide in Him 🙂

  3. Pingback: Day Four :: He Equips « Beyond Borders

  4. Pingback: Day Five :: Embrace « Beyond Borders

  5. Pingback: Day Seven :: Rise « Beyond Borders

  6. Pingback: Day Six :: Belonging « Beyond Borders

  7. Pingback: Day Sixteen :: How Great is our God « Beyond Borders

  8. Pingback: Day Seventeen :: Stuck « Beyond Borders

  9. Pingback: Day One :: The Beginning « Beyond Borders

Leave a Reply

