Beyond Borders

courage. faith. action.

Be Intentional

Leave a comment

Valentine’s Day is approaching fast, and I as I think about the celebration of love that this day brings forth, I wonder why we need a holiday to celebrate love. I know I  have been given love beyond compare, undeserved love. And while I have been handed that gift, I often times forget to extend that gift. I neglect those closest to me, I forget to love them. I am talking about real intentional love, an effort put forth to show just how much I love them and how important they are to me.  Life goes by so fast and there are so many tasks to complete, and I often move from one to another without much thought and before you know I am comfortably coexisting with my family. 

God has called me to be a wife, a stay at home homeschooling mommy, and the keeper of this home. And with all the effort I muster, I fail at this calling everyday, not for lack of trying, but because the emphasis of my efforts are misplaced. I have come to realize that clean dishes and laundry, a perfectly organized with everything house in it’s place home and gourmet meals on the table every night does not make a home. A home has a spirit of love, an air of security, and the aroma of acceptance. So how do I accomplish this? By asking for His grace every morning, to fill in the gaps when I fail, to lead me through the day, placing emphasis where it is needed and for His love to flow through me to my family, and to make this a place we call home. I pray to be intentional.


By His grace alone,
Shelly



Author: Shelly Richardson

A stay at home mom, married to my best friend, who loves like Jesus. Together we have four beautiful daughters. One biological, one adopted and two by way of marriage. Our 12 year old daughter was diagnosed with Aspergers syndrome when she was 6 years old and our youngest was diagnosed with autism at 3 years old. I have dealt with chronic illness most of my life and at times has been debilitating. It is through this illness and the special needs of our children that drew us closer to God. Beyond Borders is the place where I write out my story of living beyond my borders. A place to share of God’s love and grace, His mercy and sovereignty, and what that looks like in my own little world of chronic illness and autism. A place where courage and faith intersect and He moves me to action. My hope in writing is that you find something that inspires you. Encourages you. Makes you smile.

Leave a Reply

